Day #19

And the journey comes to an end.

Hello everybody. What a busy and hectic week it has been for me. It’s my last week of the summer serving with AmeriCorps, I’m finishing up two online graduate classes, and I’m also getting things ready to head to North Carolina on Friday. Needless to say, I’ve put in a few late nights ever since last Friday, and I’m glad this is all coming to a close.

Now, I’d like to share with you my final project for ED 620.

As stated in my previous post, I decided to incorporate Keystone SMILES AmeriCorps into the final project. At the beginning of my term of service, I was unable to access important data entry worksheets from home on my Mac computer. I found a solution and wanted to share it with other members that use Macs, present and future.

So, for the project, my main product turned into a video tutorial that utilizes actual screenshots of the process for accessing the worksheets on Mac OS. I took the screenshots using Jing, and I did any needed editing using Seashore. I pieced the clips together using iMovie, and then I recorded the narration myself though my MacBook’s built-in microphone. I decided to upload this video to YouTube so that I could easily distribute it to those who need the information. Here is the final product:

In addition to the video file, I also created a text-based instructional document using Google Docs. To view this document, click here.

I have distributed these items to the staff members at Keystone SMILES, and they will hopefully make an impact within the organization in the future. Who knows, this might eventually end up on their homepage in some way, shape, or form.

That about wraps up my work for ED 620. To all of my classmates, I wish you luck in all of your future endeavors.

That’s all folks!

Leave a Reply

