Day #12.3

Ahh… I finally found some extended time to sit down at my computer and write a commentary of what I’ve learned this week in ED 620.

Let’s start off with wikis. Wikis are really cool tools for learning. They allow anybody that has an internet connection and access to a wiki page to edit, change, save, and collaborate information with others in one place no matter the time or place. Probably the best known and most used wiki out there is Wikipedia. I mean, who hasn’t heard of this website? I’m constantly looking up information (most of the time useless information) on Wikipedia in my spare time. You can learn a lot of interesting facts in the “world’s biggest encyclopedia.”

But, I want to talk about using wikis as a classroom tool, so first, here is a short video that I found on YouTube:

In today’s classroom, technology is changing the way that learning takes place. The internet is becoming more social with Web 2.0 tools, and collaboration is a big part of the new learning experience. This means that educators need to rely on tools that allow for this type of online collaborative style of learning. Wikis are one of these tools, and there are a ton of websites out there that allow users to easily create their own wikis for their own personal use.

I have played around with wikis in the past. I personally have used Wikispaces in the initial development of my professional e-portfolio (I found Google Sites to offer more of what I was looking for in the design of my e-Portfolio). Surprisingly enough, I have never had the chance to work on a wiki with other people in a collaborative manner. I’ve always used Google Docs for my online classes, but I do want to develop classroom content of my own that uses wikis to promote collaborative learning.

I’m curious, out of the three wiki engines that were listed in our ED 620 content (Wikispaces, Wetpaint, & Peanut Butter Wiki), which one have you used the most?

That about does it for this week in ED 620. Time for me to finish my portion of the “Online Scavenger Hunt Project.”

Week 4, here we come!

One Response to Day #12.3

  1. cupprof says:

    Excellent post Nathan. Awesome use of embedding video and polls. Great work!

    I have more experience with Wikispaces. However, the best educational wikis I’ve seen have been in Wetpaint.

Leave a Reply

